2016 NHL Skills Competition: Time, TV schedule, events and open thread

Ryan O'Reilly will represent the Sabres in the skills competition. Here's your open thread and viewing info for what's usually a fun night.

NHL All Star Skills Competition

How to Watch

Time: 7:00pm - 9:30pm EST
Watch on TV: NBCSN in America, CBC, Sportsnet, TVA in Canada
Watch Online: NBC Sports Extra


Bridgestone NHL Fastest Skater
Honda NHL Breakaway Challenge
DraftKings NHL Accuracy Shooting
Gatorade NHL Skills Challenge Relay*
AMP Energy NHL Hardest Shot
Discover NHL Shootout*

* Ryan O'Reilly, the Sabres lone representative, will participate in the Skills Challenge Relay in the one-timer section, and in Round 1 of the Shootout.

Full event description and list of participants

Bridgestone NHL Fastest Skater™

Eastern Conference Western Conference

Dylan Larkin, DET Roman Josi, NSH
Brandon Saad, CBJ Matt Duchene, COL
Erik Karlsson, OTT Taylor Hall, EDM
Kris Letang, PIT Dustin Byfuglien, WPG

Event description: Four players from each team will test their speed,
facing off against an opponent in a two-skater race. The race track for the
head-to-head match-ups is the border of the rink split in half lengthways.
Timing devices will record each skater to determine the winner of each
match. If a race ends in a tie, each of the teams will be awarded one
point. The skater with the fastest time in the head-to-head match-ups will
skate a full lap of the outside border of the rink, in the direction of
their choosing, in an attempt to break Mike Gartner’s record (13.386).
Points Available: 6 – The winner of each match-up scores one point; the
team with the fastest skater scores a bonus point; if the fastest skater is
successful in breaking Mike Gartner’s record an additional bonus point will
be awarded.

Honda NHL Breakaway Challenge™

Eastern Conference Western Conference

Brandon Saad, CBJ James Neal, NSH
Evgeny Kuznetsov, WSH Matt Duchene, COL
P.K. Subban, MTL Brent Burns, SJS
Cory Schneider, NJD (goaltender) Jonathan Quick, LAK (goaltender)

Event description: A test of creativity a player can insert into a
breakaway, three shooters and one goaltender from each team will
participate. Columbus' Brandon Saad was selected by fans to participate in
this event in an online vote. Each skater will attempt two shots. NHL
penalty shot rules do not apply. Fans in-arena and watching on television
will be able to vote for their favorite player on Twitter by casting their
vote using the hashtag that corresponds to the player of their choice.
Points Available: 1 – The shooter with the highest fan vote will score one
point for his team.

DraftKings NHL Accuracy Shooting™

Eastern Conference Western Conference

John Tavares, NYI Patrick Kane, CHI
Patrice Bergeron, BOS Joe Pavelski, SJS
Claude Giroux, PHI Corey Perry, ANA
Evgeni Malkin, PIT Jamie Benn, DAL
Nicklas Backstrom, WSH (passer) Drew Doughty, LAK (passer)
Jaromir Jagr, FLA (passer) Vladimir Tarasenko, STL (passer)

Event description: Four players from each team will compete, with two
additional players serving as passers. This event will consist of four
head-to-head match-ups, one shooter from each team per round. The goal is
to hit four 15-inch diameter targets located in each corner of the net. The
teams will be situated at opposite ends of the rink, and will alternate
shot attempts. The first shooter to hit all four targets wins. Points
Available: 5 –The winner of each match-up scores one point; the player who
hits all four targets in the fastest time scores the bonus point.

Gatorade NHL Skills Challenge Relay™

Eastern Conference Western Conference

Relay 1 Relay 1

Aaron Ekblad, FLA (one-timer RH) Shea Weber, NSH (one-timer RH)
Erik Karlsson, OTT (one-timer RH) Drew Doughty, LAK (one-timer RH)
Steven Stamkos, TBL (one-timer RH) Corey Perry, ANA (one-timer RH)
Patrice Bergeron, BOS (one-time passer) Taylor Hall, EDM (one-time
Nicklas Backstrom, WSH (mini net passer) Daniel Sedin, VAN (mini net
Justin Faulk, CAR (puck control) Johnny Gaudreau, CGY (puck control)
Claude Giroux, PHI (stick handling) Patrick Kane, CHI (stick handling)
Braden Holtby, WSH (goalie goals) Pekka Rinne, NSH (goalie goals)

Relay 2 Relay 2

Ryan McDonagh, NYR (one-timer LH) Mark Giordano, CGY (one-timer LH)
Leo Komarov, TOR (one-timer LH) James Neal, NSH (one-timer LH)
Ryan O'Reilly, BUF (one-timer LH) Vladimir Tarasenko, STL (one-timer LH)
Jaromir Jagr, FLA (one-time passer) Matt Duchene, COL (one-time passer)
Evgeny Kuznetsov, WSH (mini net passer) Jamie Benn, DAL (mini net passer)
Kris Letang, PIT (puck control) Roman Josi, NSH (puck control)
Dylan Larkin, DET (stick handling) Tyler Seguin, DAL (stick handling)
Ben Bishop, TBL (goalie goals) Devan Dubnyk, MIN (goalie goals)

Event description: This timed relay event – involving 14 skaters and one
goalie from each team – will consist of five challenges: One-Timers, with
three shooters and one passer per team; Passing, with one passer per team;
Puck Control, with one skater per team; Stick-Handling, with one skater per
team; and Goalie Goals, with one goalie per team. Each skill must be
completed before moving on to the next challenge with the exception of one
timers, passing and goalie goals, in which a maximum of forty-five seconds
will be allocated. The goal is to finish all five challenges faster than
the opponent. Points Available: 3 - The team with the fastest time in each
heat scores one point; the team with the fastest overall time scores one
bonus point.

AMP NHL Hardest Shot™

Eastern Conference Western Conference

Aaron Ekblad, FLA Dustin Byfuglien, WPG
Evgeni Malkin, PIT Tyler Seguin, DAL
Steven Stamkos, TBL John Scott, ARI *
P.K. Subban, MTL Shea Weber, NSH

* will captain Pacific Division despite trade to Montreal

Event description: Four shooters from each team will test their slap shot
skill in a head-to-head match-up. Each player will attempt two shots, with
teams alternating after each player. One puck will be placed 30 feet from
the center of the net. Each shot will be calculated in miles per hour
(mph), with the highest speed of their two shots recorded. Five team points
are available. The winner of each match-up scores one point; the team with
the player who has the fastest speed scores one bonus point.

Discover NHL Shootout™

Eastern Conference Western Conference

Round 1 Round 1
Evgeni Malkin, PIT Patrick Kane, CHI
Jaromir Jagr, FLA Matt Duchene, COL
P.K. Subban, MTL Brent Burns, SJS
Ryan O'Reilly, BUF Mark Giordano, CGY
Leo Komarov, TOR Vladimir Tarasenko, STL
Aaron Ekblad, FLA Daniel Sedin, VAN
Roberto Luongo, FLA (goaltender) Devan Dubnyk, MIN (goaltender)

Round 2 Round 2
Patrice Bergeron, BOS Joe Pavelski, SJS
Nicklas Backstrom, WSH Taylor Hall, EDM
Steven Stamkos, TBL Jamie Benn, DAL
Evgeny Kuznetsov, WSH James Neal, NSH
Ryan McDonagh, NYR Johnny Gaudreau, CGY
Justin Faulk, CAR Dustin Byfuglien, WPG
Braden Holtby, WSH (goaltender) John Gibson, ANA (goaltender)

Round 3 Round 3
Claude Giroux, PHI John Scott, ARI *
Dylan Larkin, DET Shea Weber, NSH
John Tavares, NYI Tyler Seguin, DAL
Kris Letang, PIT Corey Perry, ANA
Erik Karlsson, OTT Drew Doughty, LAK
Brandon Saad, CBJ Roman Josi, NSH
Cory Schneider, NJD (goaltender) Pekka Rinne, NSH (goaltender)

* will captain Pacific Division despite trade to Montreal

Event description: 18 skaters and three goaltenders from each team will
participate in the three-round shootout. During each two-minute round, six
skaters and one goalie from each team will take the ice. Teams will
alternate after each shot with each player having a maximum of 10 seconds
to take a shot. Players one and three from each team will be designated
Discover puck players; each goal scored by these players will count as two
points. NHL shootout rules apply to each scoring attempt. Points Available:
1 point for every goal scored and 2 points for every goal scored with a
Discover puck.