Open Thread: Sabres vs. Blue Jackets

Sabres open preseason action in Columbus tonight.

The Buffalo Sabres open their preseason schedule on Tuesday evening with a 7 p.m. tilt against the Columbus Blue Jackets at Nationwide Arena. While our preseason coverage won’t be nearly as extensive as our regular season coverage, we’ll post an open thread on preseason game days for info on rosters, scratches, streaming & broadcast info and so y’all can chat during and after the game itself.

Buffalo Sabres vs. Columbus Blue Jackets
Tuesday, September 28
Puck drop: 7:00 p.m. EST

How to Watch: For those in the local broadcast market, you can watch tonight’s game on It will be a Columbus-produced broadcast with Blue Jackets announcers. It’ll also be available for audio streaming through WGR550 with Dan Dunleavy & co.

Projected Sabres Roster: Per’s Jourdon LaBarber, here’s Buffalo’s projected lines for this evening’s contest.

JJ Peterka - Dylan Cozens - Jack Quinn
Anders Bjork - Zemgus Girgensons - Vinnie Hinostroza
Brett Murray - Arttu Ruotsalainen - John Hayden
Linus Weissbach - Ryan MacInnis - Michael Mersch

Jacob Bryson - Oskari Laaksonen
Will Butcher - Ethan Prow
Brandon Davidson - Casey Fitzgerald

Aaron Dell
Dustin Tokarski

Projected Blue Jackets Roster:

Tyler Angle - Jack Roslovic - Oliver Bjorkstrand
Eric Robinson - Sean Kuraly - Carson Meyer
James Malatesta - Peter Reynolds - Kevin Stenlund
Tyler Sikura - Cole Fonstad - Zach Jordan

Vladisalv Gavrikov - Jake Bean
Gavin Bayreuther - Andrew Peeke
Tim Berni - Cole Clayton

Elvis Merzlikins
Jet Greaves

Who isn’t playing for Buffalo tonight?

Forwards: Rasmus Asplund, Brandon Biro, Drake Caggiula, Cody Eakin, Jack Eichel, Dominic Franco, Mason Jobst, Tyson Kozak, Sean Malone, Casey Mittelstadt, Andrew Oglevie, Kyle Okposo, Victor Olofsson, Matej Pekar, Lukas Rousek, Ryan Scarfo, Jeff Skinner, Tage Thompson, Brendan Warren

Defense: Nick Boka, Matthew Cairns, Rasmus Dahlin, Mitch Eliot, Robert Hagg, Henri Jokiharju, Colin Miller, Mark Pysyk, Mattias Samuelsson, Jimmy Schuldt, Josh Teves, Peter Tischke

Goaltenders: Craig Anderson Michael Houser, Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen, Mat Robson