Buffalo Sabres Release Training Camp Roster

Players report to camp on September 12

The Buffalo Sabres have released their roster for the team’s upcoming training camp, which opens on Thursday, September 12. Twenty-eight forwards, 18 defensemen and six goaltenders have been invited to camp, and there’s certainly some room for competition to find a spot on the final NHL roster.

Here’s a full list of who is expected to be at camp:

Forwards: Rasmus Asplund, Eric Cornel, Dylan Cozens, Jean-Sebastian Dea, Jack Eichel, Remi Elie, Zemgus Girgensons, Marcus Johansson, Johan Larsson, Curtis Lazar, Sean Malone, Casey Mittelstadt, Andrew Oglevie, Kyle Okposo, Victor Olofsson, Kyle Olson, Matej Pekar, Kevin Porter, Sam Reinhart, Evan Rodrigues, Arttu Ruotsalainen, Conor Sheary, Jeff Skinner, C.J. Smith, Vladimir Sobotka, Tage Thompson, Jimmy Vesey, Scott Wilson

Defense: Zach Bogosian, William Borgen, Jacob Bryson, Rasmus Dahlin, Casey Fitzgerald, John Gilmour, Brandon Hickey, Matt Hunwick (IR), Henri Jokiharju, Jake McCabe, Colin Miller, Brandon Montour, Casey Nelson, Lawrence Pilut (injured), Zach Redmond, Rasmus Ristolainen, Marco Scandella, Devante Stephens

Goaltenders: Andrew Hammond, Michael Houser, Carter Hutton, Jonas Johansson, Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen (recovering), Linus Ullmark

There aren’t really any big surprises on this year’s camp roster. Perhaps a bit of a surprise is Kyle Olson, who impressed enough during the Prospects Challenge to earn an invitation to the Sabres’ main camp.

Many of these players will make a real push for an NHL spot, while others will certainly be reassigned to the AHL’s Rochester Americans, ECHL’s Cincinnati Cyclones or a junior team before the regular season begins.

The Sabres open camp on Thursday. Their first preseason game is at Pegula Ice Arena on Monday, September 16. More roster moves, including cuts and reassignments, will likely begin after that.