Buffalo Sabres Announce Season-Opening Roster

No big surprises, no waiver claims & no Peterka in the NHL yet.

With the NHL season set to begin on Tuesday - and the Buffalo Sabres opening their schedule on Thursday - teams had until 5 p.m. Monday to set their season-opening rosters.

Earlier in the day, the Sabres made a few corresponding moves, sending Casey Fitzgerald and JJ Peterka down to the AHL’s Rochester Americans. Buffalo didn’t claim any of Sunday’s players off waivers and ended up losing Axel Jonsson-Fjalby, who was picked back up by the Washington Capitals.

The Amerks assigned Matt Cairns and Nick Boka, both defensemen, to the ECHL’s Cincinnati Cyclones. They also released forwards Graham Knott and Brent Gates from their tryouts.

With all of that said, here’s what Buffalo’s roster for opening night looks like.


Rasmus Asplund

Anders Bjork

Drake Caggiula

Dylan Cozens

Cody Eakin

Zemgus Girgensons

John Hayden

Vinnie Hinostroza

Casey Mittelstadt

Kyle Okposo

Arttu Ruotsalainen

Jeff Skinner

Tage Thompson


Will Butcher

Jacob Bryson

Rasmus Dahlin

Robert Hagg

Henri Jokiharju

Colin Miller

Mark Pysyk


Craig Anderson

Dustin Tokarski