clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards: Buffalo Sabres Past & Present

When was the last time a member of the Sabres won big at the NHL Awards?

2010 NHL Awards Portraits Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

As the National Hockey League gathers in Vegas tonight for its annual presentation of end-of-season awards, Buffalo Sabres fans might appreciate a look back at some of the awards of the past - and when a Sabres player last won them.

Before we get to that, though: a little detail about tonight’s presentation. The show will be aired at 8 p.m. EST on NBCSN and Sportsnet.

Buffalo Sabres forward Ryan O’Reilly is a finalist for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, alongside Florida’s Aleksander Barkov and Vegas’ William Karlsson. The Lady Byng is presented to the “most gentlemanly player.”

He is the only Buffalo Sabres player represented as a finalist in this year’s awards.

As for the history, here’s a list of the awards and when a Sabres player last won:

  • Art Ross Trophy (Player - most points, end of regular season): never won by a Sabres player
  • Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance, sportsmanship & dedication to hockey): Don Luce, 1974-75; Pat LaFontaine, 1994-95
  • Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie): Gilbert Perreault, 1970-71; Tom Barrasso, 1983-84; Tyler Myers, 2009-10
  • Conn Smythe Trophy (playoff MVP): never won by a Sabres player
  • E.J. McGuire Award of Excellence (prospect who exemplifies commitment to excellence)” never won by a Sabres prospect
  • Frank J. Selke Trophy (defensive forward): Craig Ramsay, 1984-85; Michael Peca, 1996-97
  • Hart Memorial Trophy (player judged most valuable to his team): Dominik Hasek, 1996-97 and 1997-98
  • Jack Adams Award (top coach): Ted Nolan, 1996-97; Lindy Ruff, 2005-06
  • James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defense player): never won by a Sabres player
  • King Clancy Memorial Trophy (leadership, humanitarian contribution): Rob Ray, 1998-99
  • Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (sportmanship, gentlemanly conduct): Gilbert Perreault, 1972-73
  • Mark Messier Leadership Award (superior leader & contributing member of society): never won by a Sabres player
  • Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy (leading goal scorer): never won by a Sabres player
  • NHL Foundation Player Award (commitment, perseverance, teamwork): Rob Ray, 1998-99; Ryan Miller, 2009-10
  • NHL General Manager of the Year Award: never won by a Sabres GM
  • NHL Plus-Minus Award: Thomas Vanek, 2006-07
  • Presidents’ Trophy (Team - Most points, end of regular season): 2006-07
  • Prince of Wales Trophy (Eastern Conference playoff champions): 1974-75 (as Wales Conference regular-season champions), 1979-80 (as Wales Conference regular-season champions), 1998-99
  • Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player in regular season, NHLPA decides): Dominik Hasek, 1996-97, 1997-98
  • Vezina Trophy (top goaltender): Don Edwards & Bob Sauve, 1979-80; Tom Barrasso, 1983-84; Dominik Hasek, 1993-94, 1994-95, 1996-97, 1997-98, 1998-99, 2000-01; Ryan Miller, 2009-10
  • William M. Jennings Trophy (goaltenders with fewst GA): Tom Barrasso & Bob Sauve, 1984-85; Dominik Hasek & Grant Fuhr, 1993-94; Dominik Hasek, 2000-01