clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryan O’Reilly a Finalist for the Lady Byng Award

Ryan O’Reilly was one of three finalists for the Lady Byng Award

NHL: Vegas Golden Knights at Buffalo Sabres Kevin Hoffman-USA TODAY Sports

The NHL announced today that Buffalo Sabres forward Ryan O’Reilly is a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy. The NHL describes the award as, “the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

The Lady Byng is known as the award given to players with the least amount penalty minutes during the season. O’Reilly only received one minor penalty through 82 games with the Sabres.

Vegas Golden Knights forward William Karlsson and Florida Panthers center Aleksander Barkov are the two other finalists. O’Reilly won the award back in 2014 as a member of the Colorado Avalanche. Neither Karlsson or Barkov have won in their careers.

The last Sabres player to win the Lady Byng was Gilbert Perrault back in the 1972-73 season. We’ll find out who wins during the NHL awards in Las Vegas on June 20.