clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kyle Okposo Nominated for the Masterton Trophy

Buffalo’s chapter of the PHWA has nominated Kyle Okposo for the Masterton Trophy

NHL: Nashville Predators at Buffalo Sabres Kevin Hoffman-USA TODAY Sports

Today all 31 nominees for the Masterton Trophy were announced. The Buffalo Sabres nominee will be forward Kyle Okposo. The Buffalo chapter of the PHWA (Professional Hockey Writers Association) voted to nominate Okposo for the honor.

The Masterton Trophy is given to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. The PHWA chapters all vote on the nominee for their respective team. The eventual winner is then chosen in a poll of the PHWA writers at the end of the season.

Okposo battled through a serious injury at the end of last season that resulted in him ending up in the Neurosurgical ICU. The 29-year-old winger recovered and was in the lineup on opening night for the Sabres this season.

After a slow start to the season Okposo has had a better second half. He has 11 goals and 40 points in 70 games.

Craig Anderson and Jaromir Jagr were the past two winners of the award. Only two Sabres have won the Masterton, Pat LaFontaine (1995) and Don Luce (1975).