clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Here’s the Sabres 2017-18 season schedule

New, comments

The league announced next year’s schedule this afternoon.

Buffalo Sabres v New York Rangers Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

The NHL bonanza rolls on today, as the league has announced the full schedule for its 2017-18 season. We found out yesterday that the Sabres would open the season at home against Montreal (again) and today we found out what the rest of their season will look like.

The first thing that jumps out to me is the third game of the year, an afternoon game on Columbus Day. Since being purchased by the Pegulas, the Sabres have pushed for more matinee games thanks to their family-friendly nature, and this year they play in six home afternoon games (technically seven, but the Winter Classic doesn’t count).

Their first big west coast road trip also takes place very early in the year - a four game swing starting with Game #4 that includes their first trip to Vegas on Tuesday, October 17. Anyone fancy a long (long) weekend trip to Vegas this October? The first time Vegas comes to Buffalo will be on March 10.

There’s something called the...Winter Classic? On January 1? Never heard of it.

For those of you excited about more intense Sabres/Leafs games, unfortunately you’ll have to wait until March 5 for the first meeting between these two teams, who then play four times in the final 17 games. Those final 17 games don’t look too easy either, seeing Buffalo close the season with a whole bunch of games against playoff teams this season.

As far as back-to-back games, the Sabres have 16 pairs this year, down from their league-leading number of 19 last year. The team’s bye week this season will come in mid-January, with no games scheduled from January 12-17.

The full schedule can be found below, or you can see the full colorized version in all its glory at Sabres.com.

2017-18 Buffalo Sabres Schedule

DAY DATE VISITOR HOME EASTERN TIME
DAY DATE VISITOR HOME EASTERN TIME
Thu. 10/5/2017 Montreal Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 10/7/2017 Buffalo N.Y. Islanders 7:00 PM
Mon. 10/9/2017 New Jersey Buffalo 3:00 PM
Thu. 10/12/2017 Buffalo San Jose 10:30 PM
Sat. 10/14/2017 Buffalo Los Angeles 10:30 PM
Sun. 10/15/2017 Buffalo Anaheim 9:00 PM
Tue. 10/17/2017 Buffalo Las Vegas 10:00 PM
Fri. 10/20/2017 Vancouver Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 10/21/2017 Buffalo Boston 7:00 PM
Tue. 10/24/2017 Detroit Buffalo 7:00 PM
Wed. 10/25/2017 Buffalo Columbus 8:00 PM
Sat. 10/28/2017 San Jose Buffalo 1:00 PM
Thu. 11/2/2017 Buffalo Arizona 10:00 PM
Sat. 11/4/2017 Buffalo Dallas 8:00 PM
Tue. 11/7/2017 Washington Buffalo 7:00 PM
Fri. 11/10/2017 Florida Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 11/11/2017 Buffalo Montreal 7:00 PM
Tue. 11/14/2017 Buffalo Pittsburgh 7:00 PM
Fri. 11/17/2017 Buffalo Detroit 7:30 PM
Sat. 11/18/2017 Carolina Buffalo 7:00 PM
Mon. 11/20/2017 Columbus Buffalo 7:00 PM
Wed. 11/22/2017 Minnesota Buffalo 7:00 PM
Fri. 11/24/2017 Edmonton Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 11/25/2017 Buffalo Montreal 7:00 PM
Tue. 11/28/2017 Tampa Bay Buffalo 7:00 PM
Fri. 12/1/2017 Pittsburgh Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 12/2/2017 Buffalo Pittsburgh 7:00 PM
Tue. 12/5/2017 Buffalo Colorado 9:00 PM
Fri. 12/8/2017 Buffalo Chicago 8:30 PM
Sun. 12/10/2017 Buffalo St. Louis 7:00 PM
Tue. 12/12/2017 Ottawa Buffalo 7:00 PM
Thu. 12/14/2017 Buffalo Philadelphia 7:00 PM
Fri. 12/15/2017 Carolina Buffalo 7:00 PM
Tue. 12/19/2017 Boston Buffalo 7:00 PM
Fri. 12/22/2017 Philadelphia Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 12/23/2017 Buffalo Carolina 7:00 PM
Wed. 12/27/2017 Buffalo N.Y. Islanders 7:00 PM
Fri. 12/29/2017 Buffalo New Jersey 7:00 PM
Mon. 1/1/2018 N.Y. Rangers Buffalo 1:00 PM
Thu. 1/4/2018 Buffalo Minnesota 8:00 PM
Fri. 1/5/2018 Buffalo Winnipeg 8:00 PM
Sun. 1/7/2018 Buffalo Philadelphia 1:00 PM
Tue. 1/9/2018 Winnipeg Buffalo 7:00 PM
Thu. 1/11/2018 Columbus Buffalo 7:00 PM
Thu. 1/18/2018 Buffalo N.Y. Rangers 7:00 PM
Sat. 1/20/2018 Dallas Buffalo 1:00 PM
Mon. 1/22/2018 Buffalo Calgary 9:00 PM
Tue. 1/23/2018 Buffalo Edmonton 9:00 PM
Thu. 1/25/2018 Buffalo Vancouver 10:00 PM
Tue. 1/30/2018 New Jersey Buffalo 7:00 PM
Thu. 2/1/2018 Florida Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 2/3/2018 St. Louis Buffalo 7:00 PM
Tue. 2/6/2018 Anaheim Buffalo 7:00 PM
Thu. 2/8/2018 N.Y. Islanders Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 2/10/2018 Buffalo Boston 7:00 PM
Sun. 2/11/2018 Colorado Buffalo 7:00 PM
Tue. 2/13/2018 Tampa Bay Buffalo 7:00 PM
Thu. 2/15/2018 Buffalo Ottawa 7:30 PM
Sat. 2/17/2018 Los Angeles Buffalo 1:00 PM
Mon. 2/19/2018 Washington Buffalo 3:00 PM
Thu. 2/22/2018 Buffalo Detroit 7:30 PM
Sat. 2/24/2018 Buffalo Washington 7:00 PM
Sun. 2/25/2018 Boston Buffalo 5:00 PM
Wed. 2/28/2018 Buffalo Tampa Bay 7:00 PM
Fri. 3/2/2018 Buffalo Florida 7:30 PM
Mon. 3/5/2018 Toronto Buffalo 7:00 PM
Wed. 3/7/2018 Calgary Buffalo 7:30 PM
Thu. 3/8/2018 Buffalo Ottawa 7:30 PM
Sat. 3/10/2018 Las Vegas Buffalo 1:00 PM
Thu. 3/15/2018 Toronto Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 3/17/2018 Chicago Buffalo 1:00 PM
Mon. 3/19/2018 Nashville Buffalo 7:00 PM
Wed. 3/21/2018 Arizona Buffalo 7:00 PM
Fri. 3/23/2018 Montreal Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 3/24/2018 Buffalo N.Y. Rangers 7:00 PM
Mon. 3/26/2018 Buffalo Toronto 7:00 PM
Thu. 3/29/2018 Detroit Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 3/31/2018 Buffalo Nashville 8:00 PM
Mon. 4/2/2018 Buffalo Toronto 7:00 PM
Wed. 4/4/2018 Ottawa Buffalo 7:30 PM
Fri. 4/6/2018 Buffalo Tampa Bay 7:30 PM
Sat. 4/7/2018 Buffalo Florida 7:00 PM