clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Expansion draft and NHL Awards open thread

Come chat with fellow Sabres fans about Vegas’s moves as George McPhee assembles the inaugural roster.

Las Vegas NHL Franchise Reveals Team Name And Logo Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images

The NHL Awards Show begins tonight at 8 p.m. eastern, and this year the annual event has a big twist. The NHL will announce the Vegas Golden Knights’ selections five at a time between every other award.

This page will be updated as the selections come in, so stick around and chat with your fellow Sabres fans about the player we’re losing and the rest of the decisions George McPhee made.

Vegas will select 30 players, one from each team. The Sabres protected seven forwards, three defensemen and a goalie, and you can find that list here. Some names are missing, including Jack Eichel and Sam Reinhart, because they are ineligible for the expansion draft due to lack of NHL experience.

The biggest names available from the Sabres are Will Carrier, Linus Ullmark, Zach Bogosian, Matt Moulson and Josh Gorges. The Sabres would likely love Vegas to take one of Bogosian, Moulson or Gorges’ contracts off their hands, but it’s more likely the Golden Knights pick either Carrier or Ullmark.

How to Watch

8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT | Wednesday, June 21

T-Mobile Arena, Las Vegas

American TV: NBCSN | Canadian TV: Sportsnet

Live streaming on and the NBC Sports app

The Selections

From Colorado - Calvin Pickard

From Vancouver - Luca Sbisa

From Arizona - Teemu Pulkkinen

From New Jersey - Jon Merrill

From Buffalo - William Carrier

From Detroit - Tomas Nosek

From Dallas - Cody Eakin

From Florida - Jonathan Marchessault

From Los Angeles - Brayden McNabb

From Carolina - Connor Brickley

From Winnipeg - Chris Thorburn

From Philadelphia - Pierre-Edouard Bellemare

From Tampa Bay - Jason Garrison

From the Islanders - J.F. Berube

From Nashville - James Neal

From Calgary - Deryk Engelland

From Toronto - Brendan Leipsic

From Boston - Colin Miller

From Ottawa - Marc Methot

From San Jose - David Schlemko

From St. Louis - David Perron

From the Rangers - Oscar Lindberg

From Edmonton - Griffin Reinhart

From Montreal - Alexei Emelin

From Anaheim - Clayton Stoner

From Minnesota - Erik Haula

From Columbus - William Karlsson

From Chicago - Trevor Van Riemsdyk

From Pittsburgh - Marc-Andre Fleury

From Washington - Nate Schmidt