clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

World Cup of Hockey Semi-Finals Open Thread

New, comments

Here we go, it’s semis time!

World Cup Of Hockey 2016 - United States v Czech Republic
Action from Air Canada Center

We’re into the semi final stage of the World Cup of Hockey. Team Russia take on Team Canada tonight in the first game, and then Team Europe play Team Sweden tomorrow to complete who will be playing in the best of three games final.

Canada topped Group A with three wins from three games, and Europe came in second with just one loss. In Group B, it took a tiebreaker for Russia to get in ahead of Team North America who they beat in a head-to-head clash. Sweden were the group winners with two wins and on overtime loss to the U-23s.

Team USA and Team Finland met an ignominious end to their competition, losing all three games.

The Buffalo Sabres are guaranteed at least one player in the finals, with Dmitry Kulikov coming up against Ryan O’Reilly tonight.

Saturday, Sept. 24

Team Russia at Team Canada

Time: 7:00 p.m. EST, 4:00 p.m. PST

Television: ESPN2, CBC, TVA Sports

Online: WatchESPN app

Sunday, Sept. 25

Team Europe at Team Sweden

Time: 1:00 p.m. EST, 10:00 a.m. PST

Television: ESPN, CBC, TVA Sports

Online: WatchESPN app

Official website: www.wch2016.com