clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buffalo Sabres All-Time 3-on-3 Teams: Which Era Wins?

Four eras of Buffalo hockey. Forty four of the best players in Sabres history. Who wins?

Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

The NHL is hoping that a new 3-on-3 format will inject new life into its all-star game. I know I am looking forward to watching the game this weekend and I can't remember the last time that was true of an all-star game of any kind.

It also got me thinking about what a Sabres all-star game would look like. So, in the spirit of this year's game, my DBTB colleagues and I divided Sabres history into four eras—the Founding Era (1970-83), the Blue and Gold Era (1984-95), the Black and Red Era (1996-05) and the Modern Era (2006-present)—and I picked six forwards, three defensemen and two goalies for each team:

Founding Era (1970-83) Blue & Gold Era (1984-95) Black & Red Era (1996-05) Modern Era (2006-present)
F: Danny Gare F: Dave Andreychuk F: Stu Barnes F: Jack Eichel
F: Don Luce F: Mike Foligno F: Daniel Briere F: Tyler Ennis
F: Rick Martin F: Dale Hawerchuk F: Chris Drury F: Ryan O'Reilly
F: Gilbert Perreault F: Pat LaFontaine F: J.P. Dumont F: Jason Pominville
F: Craig Ramsay F: Alexander Mogilny F: Miroslav Satan F: Drew Stafford
F: Rene Robert F: Pierre Turgeon F: Michael Peca F: Thomas Vanek
D: Bill Hajt D: Doug Bodger D: Jay McKee D: Brian Campbell
D: Tim Horton D: Phil Housley D: Jason Wooley D: Christian Ehrhoff
D: Jim Schoenfeld D: Mike Ramsey D: Alexei Zhitnik D: Rasmus Ristolainen
G: Don Edwards G: Tom Barrasso G: Martin Biron G: Jhonas Enroth
G: Bob Sauve G: Darren Puppa G: Dominik Hasek G: Ryan Miller

I would watch that all-star tournament. But, more importantly, which team do you think would emerge victorious? How would you have picked the teams? Vote in the poll and let us know in the comments below.