clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

One week and counting

The Buffalo Sabres are one week away from starting training camp and will play their first preseason game two weeks from tonight.  It's almost time for hockey and I couldn't be more excited.  The Sabres released their training camp practice schedule yesterday and you can find it all over the web.  I'll list it below just for information purposes but remember to check back to Sabres.com for updates.  Last year I went to an open practice and found out that it was canceled when I arrived so beware that this is possible.

As other teams continue to release their jerseys the Sabres still have not unveiled their version of the new Reebok jerseys.  I can never understand why the Sabres are so secretive about everything they do.  It doesn't matter because hockey season is a week away and nothing can bring me down from that no matter how hard they try.

The Sabres also announced that 39 players would be attending camp.  I think for the most part this gets some young guys some playing time around the big club while the veterans get in the swing of things.  I don't think any of these young guys have an opportunity to make the club but it will be valuable experience.

The roster breaks down like this:

Centers (9): Jean Simon Allard, Ben Breault, Paul Byron, Tim Connolly, Paul Gaustad, Derek Roy, Michael Ryan, Felix Schutz, Marek Zagrapan

Left Wing (6): Jochen Hecht, Dylan Hunter, Clarke MacArthur, Daniel Paille, Andrew Peters, Thomas Vanek

Right Wing (7): Maxim Afinogenov, Patrick Kaleta, Ales Kotalik, Mark Mancari, Adam Mair, Jason Pominville, Drew Stafford

Defensemen (14): T.J. Brennan, Brian Campbell, Mike Card, Mike Funk, Marc-Andre Gragnani, Dmitri Kalinin, Toni Lydman, Teppo Numminen, Nathan Paetsch, Drew Scheistel, Andrej Sekera, Jaro Spacek, Henrik Tallinder, Mike Weber

Goalies (3): Adam Dennis, Ryan Miller, Jocelyn Thibault

Buffalo Sabres Training Camp schedule (copied from Sabres.com)
Thursday, September 13: Veterans report, 8 a.m.
Friday, September 14:   On-ice at HSBC Arena, 10 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Saturday, September 15:  On-ice at HSBC Arena, 10 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Sunday, September 16:   On-ice at HSBC Arena, 10 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Monday, September 17:  On-ice at HSBC Arena, 10 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Tuesday, September 18:  On-ice at HSBC Arena, 10 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Wednesday, September 19:  On-ice at HSBC Arena, 6-8:30 p.m.
Thursday, September 20:  On-ice at HSBC Arena, 10 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Friday, September 21:   Columbus @ Buffalo, 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, September 22:  On-ice at Pepsi Center, 10:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Sunday, September 23:   Buffalo @ Columbus, 5:00 p.m.
Monday, September 24:  Buffalo vs. Minnesota @ Grand Forks, ND, 8:00 p.m.
Tuesday, September 25: TBD
Wednesday, September 26: Buffalo @ Toronto, 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, September 27:  On-ice at Pepsi Center, 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.
Friday, September 28:  Buffalo @ Pittsburgh, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, September 29: Buffalo vs. Pittsburgh, 7 p.m.

Please note that practice times and locations are subject to change.  Fans can check www.sabres.com for the latest schedule information.